Indecent

Blurring the lines of blame and moral ambiguity, Corinne Sullivan’s smart, sexy debut is perfect for fans of The Girls and Sweetbitter.

Available

NOW!

Photograph by Sub/Urban Photography
About Corinne

Corinne Sullivan studied English with a Creative Writing Concentration at Boston College, where she graduated in 2014. She then received her MFA in fiction from Sarah Lawrence College in 2016. Her stories have appeared in Night Train, Knee-Jerk, and Pithead Chapel, among other publications. Indecent is her debut novel.​

When she's not writing, Corinne is teaching spin classes, performing with DanceWorks New York City, and working as a bookseller at the independent book store, Book Culture. She lives with her fiancé and her fat dog, Jack, in Long Island City. 

 
 
About Indecent

Shy, introverted Imogene Abney has always been fascinated by the elite world of prep schools, having secretly longed to attend one since she was a girl in Buffalo, New York.  So, shortly after her college graduation, when she’s offered a teaching position at the Vandenberg School for Boys, an all-boys prep school in Westchester, New York, she immediately accepts, despite having little teaching experience—and very little experience with boys. 

When Imogene meets handsome, popular Adam Kipling a few weeks into her tenure there, a student who exudes charm and status and ease, she's immediately drawn to him. Who is this boy who flirts with her without fear of being caught? Who is this boy who seems immune to consequences and worry; a boy for whom the world will always provide?

As an obsessive, illicit affair begins between them, Imogene is so lost in the haze of first love that she's unable to recognize the danger she's in.  The danger of losing her job. The danger of losing herself in the wrong person. The danger of being caught doing something possibly illegal and so indecent. 
   
Exploring issues of class, sex, and gender, this smart, sexy debut by Corinne Sullivan shatters the black-and- white nature of victimhood, taking a close look at blame and moral ambiguity.

“A page turner with characters so fresh and real it’s scary, Indecent will take your breath away. Sullivan explores subject matter that could be merely titillating, sex, power, desire, but is so ruthlessly honest about them that in the end she challenges everything we thought we knew.”

—  Rufi Thorpe, The Girls From Corona del Mar

What People Are Saying About Indecent

 
 

Who's Talking About Indecent

 

Contact Corinne

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • 68747470733a2f2f63646e342e69636f6e66696e6465722e636f6d2f646174612f69636f6e732f6d69752d626c61636b2d73

US Agent: ​

Stephen Barbara

stephen@inkwellmanagement.com

Publicity: ​

Brittani Hilles

brittani.hilles@stmartins.com

UK Agent:​

Juliet Mushens

juliet@caskiemushens.com